Chops tops Fantasy League 2017/18!

14 Sep 2018

Former OHAFC 2nd XI skipper Arjun Chopra has been crowned the 2017/18 OHAFC Fantasy League champion following a tense season-long battle that saw his coronation only confirmed following the final weekend of Premier League fixtures.

Having led for much of the season, Chops' team 'The Egyptian Messi' - in homage to Liverpool's goalscoring revelation Mo Salah - went into the final gameweek with a slim lead of 22 points over 1s' striker James Breeden, whose Breeden Rodgers outfit had enjoyed a steady rise up the table since Christmas.

And it was a case of experience triumphing over youth as Chops held his nerve to record an excellent 73 point total for the week, thanks in no small part to his trio of Palace players who garnered 29 points between them. With Salah, obviously, selected as captain and delivering a further 22 pts, it all added up to an impressive total of 73 for the week, leaving Breeden needing 96 points to snatch the title at the death.

alt text

As it was, James could only manage the League average of 49pts, with his eight defenders and midfielders contributing a paltry 14 points between them.

So the final standings saw Chops crowned the champion by a fairly comfortable 46 pts in the end. His final 38 gameweek total of 2251pts was just 261 points off the overall winner's total.

James Breeden added a Fantasy League runners-up medal to his Golden Boot award for finishing as the club's top scorer, with Conti von Hirsch and Ed Poulter, both regulars in the upper echelons of the Fantasy League standings, finishing third and fourth respectively.

Charlie Hicks' 'The Underdogs' showed they had no reason to label themselves as such, with a very creditable 5th place and David Howells, not seen for a while on the playing fields of Harrow, in sixth.

At the wrong end of the table, Nick Scarborough was proof that love for second-rate Arsenal chuggers such as Alex Iwobi is no way to run a Fantasy League campaign - 'Iwobi Wan Kenobi', despite the cute Star Wars pun, finishing dead last with 1521pts - the only one of the 24 competing squadrons not to pass the 1600 point mark.

alt text

Congratulations to our winner, Arjun 'Chop-punch' Chopra, and well done to everyone else for taking part.

See you again next season!