Inaugural FestiPhil event a huge success

17 Sep 2012

Saturday's first ever Festiphil Tournament was a great success for the club and a fitting occasion with which to officially open the Charles Alcock Pavilion, the OHAFC's new clubhouse at the far end of the Phil pitches.

Four teams formed from a comibination of OHAFC players past and present, along with some current school footballers, competed in a round-robin tournament on the two adjacent pitches at the bottom of the Philathletic Grounds.

As well as the football, School Headmaster Jim Hawkins and former OHAFC President Fred Woolley both spoke to those gathered about the significance of the new building and the colourful past of the man it was named after: Charles Alcock was a first class footballer and cricketer and was the man credited with inventing the FA Cup, based on the Cock House competition already in play at Harrow School.

Following on from the football, which saw the Red Crosses led by Theo Gordon finish a point ahead of John Wyn-Evans' Green Shoots in the final table, there was a BBQ and refreshements, whilst some members of the 1st and 2nd XI squads were required to film penalties for next February's club dinner under instruction from Andy Butler.

The new pavilion will be in use for the first time in an official capacity this Saturday when the OHAFC 3rd XI play their first League game of the season against Old Eastbournians, whilst the 1st XI continue their preparations for the new season with their final pre-season friendly against Stowe.

The teams that lined up on Saturday to mark the opening of the Charles Alcock Pavilion were as follows:

Red Crosses (1st, 5pts): Theo Gordon (c), Quentin Baker (gk), Ogyen Verhagen (schoolboy), Phil Berry, Ed Arghebant, Ed Martins, Ollie Morley-Fletcher, Hussein Janmo, Luke de Rougemont, Tarun Ahluwalia, Ben Kerry, Matthew Main (schoolboy), Mike Morley-Fletcher

Green Shoots (2nd, 4pts): John Wyn-Evans (c), Alasdair Pritchard (gk), Andy Butler (gk), Harry Bick (schoolboy), Jack Robinson, Will Orr-Ewing, Mark Baddeley, David Lederman, Pete Chadwick, Dave Stead, Charlie Stebbings, Giles Clarke, Alastair Buckley (schoolboy), Charlie Feather

Blue Chips (3rd, 3pts): Arjun Chopra (c), David Griffiths (gk), Alex Jamal, Harry Woolley, Simon Maydon, Nick Defty, Nick Kapoor, Kamil Amin, Rupert Hoffen, Alex Gilbert, James Mee, David Igbokwe (schoolboy), Bobby Tindall, Jeremy Lloyd-Jones

Yellow Cards (4th, 0pts): Ed Poulter (c), Charlie Walsh (gk), Dami Aderemi, Shaun Cooper, Yunus Sert, Nick Maytum, Fred Richardson, Max Curry, Ollie Feather, Charlie Reid, Dan Blume (schoolboy)

Photos from the day can be viewed here